VORP Thrift Store

VORP Thrift Store
Shop the VORP Thrift Store

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Eight candidates meet deadline for city council run. Neither incumbent seeking reelection.

The deadline has passed for candidates to turn in nominating petitions to get their name on the ballot for the November 8 city election for two seats on the Crossville city council.

Candidates qualifying include:

1) Jerry T. "J.J" Brownstead
2) Charles Cooper, Jr.
3) J. H. Graham, former mayor and councilman
4) Robert E. "Rob" Harrison,
5) Terri L. Manning
6) Jeanette W. Parsons
7) Scot Shanks
8) David E. Warner, former city councilman who served from Jan 1985-Dec 1992

Neither of the council members who currently hold the seats are running, Councilman Pete Souza previously announced he would not be running and while councilman Jesse Kerley took out papers he did not turn them back in.

While most of the candidates have not held office previously, candidates J. H. Graham has served as both a council member and many years as mayor.  He lost an election 2 years ago to current mayor James Mayberry.  David Warner previously held a council seat from 1985 to 1992.  

The candidates have a week to decide if they want to stay on the ballot and can withdraw by noon August 26 if they choose.  Otherwise their name will appear on the ballot for November 8.

October 11 is the deadline to register to vote in the November election according to the Cumberland County election office.

Early voting opens on October 19 and continues through November 3.

Incumbent Jesse Kerley not seeking reelection 

Incumbent Pete Souza not seeking reelection 

No comments:

Post a Comment